Page Ten 2014

Page Ten 2014

This page is all about the Tobacco Road Half Marathon. This race was the first in three for the Spring Triple Crown series I am doing with Robin and Cecilia. A few days before the race, the race director sent out an email about a bell at the finish line for PRs and first timers. Of course, that was just enough incentive for me to try to beat my previous personal best of 2:22. I decided it was probably best for me to try to stick with the 2:20 pace group. By mile three it was clear they were not pacing for an actual 2:20 finish, but actually something a bit faster than that, so I took an opportunity at mile 5 to make a pit stop and then kept them in my sights for the rest of the race. The half was an out and back, so I was lucky enough to see Kara on the way out and then on the way back I got to see Robin, Cecilia, and Ginny. It was crazy but I also somehow managed to see Rich and Paul at the exact moment we were passing their wives on the sidelines. For at least a couple miles I got to run with Klugh during her first ever half. She finished just ahead of me. Basically, all in all it was a pretty awesome race. I managed to finish in a little over 2:18 shaving about four minutes off of my previous personal best and I GOT TO RING THE BELL. Sweet!

Leave a Reply

