2015 Running Goal

Tracy suggested I make a post about my running streak just to bring all of my readers up to speed.  Readers, are you there?  Anyways…  The local running store Bull City Running Company, where I recommend everyone buys their running gear, hosted a contest in 2012 to see who could run the longest number of consecutive days in 2012.  The challenge started on January 1st.  There was no set distance, and I figured the most I would have to do to win was get through half of the year.  At the beginning of the year there were a bunch of people on board, mostly local, but a few out of towners as well.  Since there was no set distance, the only thing you HAD to do was run a little and post on twitter with the hashtag #BullCityRunningStreak every day with an update on what you ran that day.  A few days into it, I looked up running streaks an came across the United States Running Streak Association webpage.  They had a one mile a day minimum, so I figured I should set that as well for my streak.  So on January 3rd (my third day of the BCRC streak) I ran at least a mile and have kept it up ever since.

My 2012 running resolution ended up being to keep the running streak alive long enough to win.  At the end of the year (having run through only a couple of running related injuries — a little IT Band, a little achilles, a little calf muscle stuff) I found myself alongside six other runners with a full year under our belts.  The store awarded us a pair of Saucony shoes each for our efforts.  At that point three of the streak runners dropped out and left me, Adrien, Kevin, and a guy in PA.  Adrien has had to stop his streak a couple of times due to more serious injuries, but Kevin, the guy in PA, and I are still going strong.  Kevin has a personal two mile a day minimum.  2012 ended in 1515 miles.

To mix it up a bit in 2013, I took on a buddies goal of running 13 months in 2013.  The rules for me were that I had to do 30 days of doubles with each run being at least 5k in length and four hours apart.  So if I ran a 5k in the morning, I could run another 5k at lunch or in the evening and it would count as one of my thirty days.  I was still finishing that goal up in December 2013 so that ended up being another excellent year long resolution.  It also brought my year end mileage up to 1810.4 miles.

In 2014, my overarching goal was to run 2014 miles.  To date I have run 2078.1 surpassing my goal by 3%.  I hit my goal December 20th, so again I think that ended up being a good year long goal.  I definitely don’t want something that I can achieve too early leaving me with a bunch of a year and no long term goal.

For 2015, I was having difficulty coming up with a cool goal that would take me the entire year.  You can tell from this blog how many races I do in a year, so running 15 races wouldn’t be a good goal.  I also didn’t want anything as challenging as the year in miles again — it was achievable, but it definitely took a great deal of focus for me.  I crowd sourced my goal and eventually came across one that got me pretty excited.  My sports massage therapist — John Stiner suggested I go for 15+ mile runs 15 times in 2015.  Looking back over my 2014 data, there were several days where my daily total crossed the 15 mile threshold, but only five runs that were 15 or more in length.  I think it’s safe to say it will take me most of the year to meet this goal.  If you want to join me in my 2015 quest, join my facebook group.

Leave a Reply

