Shamrock Marathon training

half marathon-001I am a week away from the Shamrock Full and I’ve been equal parts excited and nervous for race day.  I’ve had the pleasure of being a member of the race ambassador team for the J&A race series and in addition to running the Shamrock Half in 2012, have gotten to run in the inaugural Harbor Lights 5k and Half and the Surfin Santa 5 miler this past year.  I know without a doubt that the event will be awesome logistically and that I will be well taken care of as a runner.  All that being said, I know there is nothing I can do to prepare myself more for race day.  Really it’s totally dependent on weather and conditions at this point.  By race day I will have put approximately 800 miles in of training as well as consistently hit crossfit at least 1-2 times per week for the last twenty weeks.  I realized at some point in December that if I was going to start following a training plan, that I was already several weeks in.  Luckily I had been training for Harbor Lights which was late in November, so it wasn’t like I had been slacking off.  The hay is in the barn as coach Jason would say and I’m as ready as I can be.  Here’s hoping for a spectacular race!

weekly mileage.xlsx - Shamrock Training-page-001

Leave a Reply

