Shamrock Marathon Recap

marathon weekend page two

I think Hoku sang a song about my marathon weekend and it went a little something like this:

Sun’s not up

A little after five

Grab breakfast for myself

Leave the worries for someone else

People say

They say that it’s insane

They tell me to have some fun,

Well I am

On this perfect day,

Nothing’s standing in my way

On this perfect day,

When nothing can go wrong

It’s the perfect day,

I’m in the race

But I’ve already won

And getting there can

Be half the fun,

So don’t stop me

Till I’m good and done,

Don’t you try to rain on my

Perfect day

A week or so ago I posted my training plan for the Shamrock Marathon — my second attempt at the marathon distance and I shared my goals for the event: 1) beat last year’s time, 2) break 5:30, 3) break 5.  I honestly thought that breaking five was a pipe dream, but you gotta have a pipe dream.  The morning of the race I woke up about an hour before my alarm, grabbed a muffin and a danish from the lobby and got ready for my race.  I headed over in the shuttle and got to see the start of the half marathon and even the back of Kellie as she took off with her wave and got a picture with Corinne another of the J&A race ambassadors and my steepest competition in the Battle of the Ambassadors.

I waited in the Hilton hotel on the 2nd floor until closer to the race start enjoying the view of the beach, the indoor restrooms, and the conversation from veteran marathoners talking about their 3:30 or better goals for the day.

Ten minutes before the race was supposed to start I headed downstairs and found the corral 4 sign holders.  I got in line with them so that I could be at the front of the corral but noticed along the way that I was actually in front of the rope for the fourth corral so I ended up starting in the tail end of the third corral.  The five hour pace group was in the fourth corral so I knew they’d be behind me during the race until I figured they would pass me and I would have my moment about that.

The third corral was off and I would refer to my arm full of names for me to think about throughout the race.  Each mile marker I would check for the next name.  It was a great way to focus my mind throughout the race so I wasn’t doing a bunch of mental math or checking my watch or having self doubt.  Half the time I ran for the folks who nominated someone and the other half was focusing my energy for the ones they nominated.

The course goes on two different bases and I made sure to high five every person I had the opportunity to on base.  The boys were waiting for me at our hotel at mile 14 and it was SO great to see them.  I told them to be outside at 11am and if they hadn’t seen me by noon to give up.  I passed by them at 11:15.  After they saw me, they grabbed a bite to eat for lunch and then started making their way down the beach to the finish line — I beat them to the finish by about 45 minutes.

Along the course I spent some time on the boardwalk or at least with views of the beach and water and went by a couple of lighthouses too.  All the way there were offers of bacon, M&Ms, sour candies, twizzlers, orange slices, beer, and mimosas.  I turned everything down but the mimosa — one of my buddies Tracy insisted I have fun during the race so anytime I thought of her, it brought a big smile to my face and when I ran a mile for her the mimosa was offered so I figured I should enjoy it!  It was around mile 19 at that point.

I stuck to my 6:1 intervals from the end of the RunBuds season so I had no idea how fast/slow I was going throughout the race.  14 minutes/mile is not my pace so I wasn’t hitting the mile markers during walk breaks and I had not done any kind of calculations to see how many miles in I should be when I hit walk breaks at the mile markers.  So I just ran when I was supposed to run and walked when I was supposed to walk.  Once we got to Atlantic Avenue someone yelled out that I was on target for a five hour time so I had it in my head I could actually make my A goal at that point, but we were already 22 miles in.  So I just kept steady with my intervals.

I also heard from spectators that the 5 hour time limit folks were behind me and I had not seen them pass so I figured if I could just keep them behind me, I might actually have a shot.  When we got on the boardwalk and I could see the finish line I thought about my RunBuds ran the last bit for them.  I turned my watch off when I hit 26.21 miles and I took a second to look at it before I did the last bit to the finish line.  It read 4:48:00 — I had done it!  Sub 5!  I did a little fist pump in the air and went the rest of the way.  Official chip time: 5:00:11.4  Thank you, J&A for my perfect day!  #ambassadors

Mile 1: 11:31

Mile 2: 11:09

Mile 3: 11:05

Mile 4: 11:10

Mile 5: 11:31

Mile 6: 11:00

Mile 7: 11:28

Mile 8: 10:56

Mile 9: 11:02

Mile 10: 11:00

Mile 11: 11:18

Mile 12: 11:33

Mile 13: 11:12

Mile 14: 11:38

Mile 15: 11:23

Mile 16: 11:10

Mile 17: 11:32

Mile 18: 11:52

Mile 19: 11:40 — mimosa mile

Mile 20: 11:09

Mile 21: 11:22

Mile 22: 11:44

Mile 23: 11:49

Mile 24: 11:27

Mile 25: 11:51

Mile 26: 11:20

3 thoughts on “Shamrock Marathon Recap

  1. Lovely recap! Congrats on the AMAZING sub-five PR! I felt like I was running alongside with you. I laughed at your battle of the ambassador comment.. so true.. it is prob btw you and Corinne 🙂

Leave a Reply

